2018-2023

The research project “Mitigating Illness and Raising Wellness at the Human-Dog Interface in Northern Canada” (IPDW),  is led by Prof. André Ravel, and aims to better understand and respond to current issues related to human-gog interactions in northern Canada. Human-dog interactions generate public health issues such as bites, exposure to rabies, fear and social tensions.

 

These issues are exacerbated in communities in northern Quebec, where canine overpopulation and a higher prevalence of bites are often observed more than the rest of the province. Our team contributes to this project by:

1) Studying knowledge, attitudes and practices related to dogs and dog bites

2) Developing One Health decision support tools that take into account the complexity of these issues in three communities located in northern Quebec: Matimekush-Lac John, Schefferville and Kawawachikamach.

PRINCIPAL RESEARCHER

STUDENTS

CO RESEARCHERS

Francis Levesque

Laine Chanteloup

Johanne Saint-Charles

OTHER PEOPLE INVOLVED

FUNDING

Logo IRSC.jpg

2018-2023

Le projet de recherche « Mitigating Illness and Raising Wellness at the Human-Dog Interface in Northern Canada » (IPDW), dirigé par le Pr. André Ravel, et qui a pour objectif de mieux comprendre et de répondre aux enjeux actuels liés aux interactions humain-chien dans le nord du Canada. Les interactions humain-chien génèrent des enjeux de santé publique comme les morsures, l’exposition à la rage, la peur et des tensions sociales.

 

Ces enjeux sont exacerbés dans les communautés du nord du Québec, où on observe souvent une surpopulation canine et une prévalence de morsures plus élevée que dans le reste de la province. Notre équipe contribue à ce projet en :

1) Étudiant les connaissances, attitudes et pratiques liés aux chiens et aux morsures de chiens

2) Développant des outils d’aide à la décision Une seule santé qui tiennent compte de la complexité de ces enjeux dans trois communautés situées au Nord du Québec : Matimekush-Lac John, Schefferville et Kawawachikamach.

CHERCHEUR PRINCIPAL

ÉTUDIANT(E)S

CO CHERCHEURS

Francis Lévesque

Laine Chanteloup

Johanne Saint-Charles

AUTRES PERSONNES IMPLIQUÉES

PARTENAIRES DE FINANCEMENT

Logo IRSC.jpg